Get ECDL Certified!
13 Jan 04

IT competent and Certified employees are a sought after commodity and therefore it is increasingly important that anyone using IT in their profession gains a recognised certificate of their competence.

The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) is THE internationally recognised qualification which enables people to demonstrate their competence in computer skills. It is designed specifically for those who wish to gain a benchmark qualification in computing to enable them to develop their IT skills and enhance their career prospects. No prior knowledge of IT or computer skills is needed to study ECDL.

The ECDL syllabus is designed to cover the key concepts of computing, its practical applications and their use in the workplace and society. It is broken down into seven modules, each of which must be passed before an ECDL certificate is awarded. The seven modules which make up the ECDL are:

1) Basic concepts of IT
2) Using the computer and managing files
3) Word processing
4) Spreadsheets
5) Database
6) Presentation
7) Information and Communication

The modules may be taken in any order and over a period of time (up to three years) - even all at once - offering maximum flexibility. When all 7 modules have been successfully passed, a certificate is issued.

The key benefits of taking ECDL for the individual are:

  • Raising your level of competency in IT and computing skills
  • Improving your productivity at home and work
  • Requires no prior knowledge of IT or computer skills
  • Provides you with a worldwide recognised qualification

Pearson Education publishes the full range of fully-accredited titles on the latest ECDL syllabus (ECDL 4.0) to assist in the teaching and study of ECDL. Click here to view.

To view our latest news releases, please click here.